Leave a Review

American Home Guardian

American Home Guardian
Good: No Inspection Wait, A- BBB Rating
Bad: Limited Coverage
Average User Score
Out of 16 User Ratings
Click to vote
GD Star Rating
loading...

American Home Guardian Review


American Home Guardian (AHG) provides service in Texas, Nevada, and Arizona and is quite popular in those states. This company strives to provide unique services to their customers and want to lead the innovation of home warranty coverage. At AHG their mission is to provide the best quality services at the best value to their customers.

The Good

There are many services offered at AHG. They provide a 60 warranty with a 100% satisfaction guarantee. Included in every contract is 13 SEER and 410A HVAC coverage. They also claim to provide the fastest response time in the business.

There is no waiting period following an inspection.

They also have a website which is easy to navigate and provides transparent information about all of their services. You will be able to fill out a request and receive information using their website. They also have an FAQ section which provides a ton of information regarding the company and home warranty coverage in general.

The Bad

Some appliances that are covered in higher ranked companies are not covered by AHG. This is a shame because this company offers really great service at a really good price. Also the fact that they only operate in three states is a major drawback.

The Bottom Line

Great service, but limited. If you live in their coverage area they might be worth a try, but at the same price other companies offer a more extensive coverage plan.

American Home Guardian, reviewed by Best Home Warranty on 2015-11-06T20:31:30+00:00 rating 6.0 out of 10

23 Reviews for "American Home Guardian"

  1. Jenny
    August 25, 2014, 7:20 pm
    1/10

    RUN AS FAST AS YOU CAN!!! They claim they have 24 hour customer service- which is a lie. They have a machine that tells you that they will call you back the next business day. They have an online submission that will contact you within 4 hours of business start the next business day. I had a flooded kitchen from a bad garbage disposal- it happened on the weekend. I had to call someone to fix it- and they never ever called me back despite multiple calls for resolution. This weekend my AC went out- in August, in PHOENIX- I got a call 24 hours later. I had to pay someone privately to fix as I have 2 dogs and we were in a sweat house. When I called there was no remorse. The lady tried to tell me that the contractors are not mandated to work weekends…. unfortunately the customer service is not either. Do not buy into the sales bologna that they are #1. RUN. I am.

    GD Star Rating
    loading...
  2. Erika
    October 12, 2014, 3:10 am
    1/10

    I have an over the range microwave that stopped working. I called AHG on a Friday at 2pm to request service. Never got a call & I had to call them to schedule on Monday. Was charged $54 to have the guy come out to tell me it can’t be fixed. Got $109 towards a new one. So basically they gave me $50 to buy a new one. New ones comparable to mine run $500 + not including installation and delivery. I called the Manager, Javier twice with AHG and left messages both times. That was 2 weeks ago & I still haven’t heard back. So, I sent an email through their website a week ago, and still no response. In the meantime I had to suck it up and purchase a new microwave with the pathetic $50 they gave me. I thought warranty companies are supposed to give you money for a comparable item. They didn’t do that in addition to nobody getting back to me. I’ll be cancelling my contract with them at renewal time.

    GD Star Rating
    loading...
  3. David Bressler
    July 24, 2015, 5:04 am
    1/10

    American Home Guardian does not stand behind the work of its subcontractors. The subcontractor assigned by AHG to repair my oven broke my oven and then charged me $385 to fix the problem. AHG refused to reimburse me, saying the damage done by THEIR CONTRACTOR was not covered under my policy. I am now pursuing legal means of recovery against AHG and the subcontractor, if I can ever find out his last name. He refused to give me that information and so did AHG. This is truly a disreputable company with questionable business practices. If you buy a policy from them, you’ll have no one to blame for your mistake except yourself. CAVEAT EMPTOR!

    GD Star Rating
    loading...
  4. William D.
    September 7, 2015, 8:22 am
    10/10

    This was Andrew’s second trip. Always told me what was going on, kept me informed. Very nice to my dogs.

    GD Star Rating
    loading...
  5. Robert Gianguzzi
    September 11, 2015, 3:01 am
    10/10

    I was impressed by the coordination of the efforts- especially on memorial day weekend as my AC unit needed repair!!

    GD Star Rating
    loading...
  6. Megan Schmidt
    October 8, 2015, 4:14 am
    10/10

    Service was great! Our technician stayed late to get the job done. Excellent!

    GD Star Rating
    loading...
  7. Jacqy W.
    October 30, 2015, 3:42 am

    My AC stopped working late yesterday, the rep from AHG made sure the repair was completed yesterday

    GD Star Rating
    loading...
  8. Nichole W.
    November 10, 2015, 2:16 am
    10/10

    Fantastic technician went above and beyond customer service expectations.

    GD Star Rating
    loading...
  9. carston
    November 17, 2015, 3:46 pm
    10/10

    I am very happy with American Home Guardian today! They made my water heater replacement a snap! I was in a panic when it was leaking all over my garage. The person that answered the phone when I called told me how to shut it off and the tech was at my house within 4 hours and was prepared to replace the unit. Thank-you AHG!

    GD Star Rating
    loading...
  10. Daniel C.
    November 23, 2015, 9:15 am
    10/10

    Knowledge of technician was very impressive. AHG Home Warranty is simply the best! And I cant think of any company in this line of business which can provide the same amount of dedication and customer support!

    GD Star Rating
    loading...
  11. Elwood Boehmer
    January 14, 2016, 3:35 am
    10/10

    The contractor was polite, talkative and efficient.

    GD Star Rating
    loading...
  12. Julie
    May 2, 2016, 9:15 pm
    10/10

    Wonderful company that puts their customers first. I’ll definitely be using AHG from here on out. If you are looking for a company that takes pride in customer service, then look no further.

    GD Star Rating
    loading...
  13. Jessica Berroth
    June 12, 2018, 3:35 am

    AHG rep Latisha was very friendly and helpful she sent out Joshs Handyman Services and they were fantastic. Great communication, timely, quick, friendly and quiet. My 4 month old was able to sleep through their job which made me a happy mommy. Thank you!

    GD Star Rating
    loading...
  14. John Heward
    July 27, 2018, 1:59 am

    I thought John and John with A to Z plumbing were great. They came in and helped out and got everything working again. Very good customer service. This is the first time using our warranty and I was impressed with all aspects from beginning to end. Thank you.

    GD Star Rating
    loading...
  15. F Steward
    August 15, 2018, 4:06 am

    Mechanical Express was so accommodating. The tasks were completed in a timely manner. The technician was friendly and helpful. He explained the process to me. I would definitely use them again. Highly recommend this company.

    GD Star Rating
    loading...
  16. NC Forbush
    September 3, 2018, 3:55 am

    Outstanding service. The tech was on time, called ahead, showed up ready to get my AC working again. The repairman was very professional and so was all the staff from AHG. Thanks.

    GD Star Rating
    loading...
  17. Parish Rosado
    September 17, 2018, 5:27 am

    I’ve made use of the home warranty twice and both times, the company they sent was prompt and resolved the issue.

    GD Star Rating
    loading...
  18. Joe Holcomb
    October 3, 2018, 7:13 am

    I was having air conditioning problems. I called AHG for service. In two days MBP HEATING AND AIR came to my house. My problem was fixed in Ten minutes. Thanks again to AHG HOME WARRANTY.

    GD Star Rating
    loading...
  19. Debbie Drush
    October 12, 2018, 5:46 am

    Ron has been to our home 3 times in the last week for A/C repairs. He was very patient and worked diligently to complete the repairs and restore our A/C. We are very grateful to him as well as AHG for their help in getting this resolved.

    GD Star Rating
    loading...
  20. Chris Branch
    December 3, 2018, 11:23 pm

    Was able to get sent out and handled in timely manner. Only concern was sent originally to a service provider who after multiple calls to get an eta got call back 1 hours later and was told earliest ETA 4 days out. When called AHG back they reassigned to a company that made it the same day. I appreciate the timeliness and communication that the tech Ron provided

    GD Star Rating
    loading...
  21. Frank Jorgenson
    December 24, 2018, 6:20 pm

    We had a very unsettling experience in our bathroom. The faucet where the water is turned on in the bathroom broke, leaving us in a situation where the water in the bathroom was running rapidly, nonstop, which required that we turn the water off to the whole house. The plumber came by, diagnosed the problem, and had it fixed quickly. He had the proper tools and knowhow to make the repair in short order, appreciate him a lot.

    GD Star Rating
    loading...
  22. Maxine
    December 27, 2018, 4:43 pm

    Our work was scheduled between 8 am and; 12 noon. We had heard NOT A WORD from either the Vendor or the service tech by noon. Called the number for the Vendor and found out the Tech was still an hour out from being able to get to our house. We made arrangements to be home later in the afternoon &; the Tech finally showed up. He apologized for the delay &; completed the work quickly &; efficiently. Well Appreciated.

    GD Star Rating
    loading...
  23. jayme
    May 14, 2019, 10:20 am

    DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!! Please do research that I did not do before paying an annual fee of $595. I was with HWA for 3 years and never had an issue. My Realator suggested switching to AHG after a sales rep had been wanting his business. It’s the biggest mistake I’ve ever made. If you google reviews, you will find they do NOT do any repairs with the deductible as other home warranty companies do.
    I was charged $965 for a garage door spring, $400 covered by AHG, and the cost of $565 out of pocket to me. If I had used my own contractor and not filed a claim, it would have cost me a total of $225. When I tried to stop the work and said I did not approve and would eat the $65 service fee, they refused saying AHG approved the repairs….No one would return my calls/emails etc. Even my original salesman hung up on me.

    I am filing a complaint with BBB until I get a resolution. My request to cancel my policy and go with another company has been ignored. I’ve resorted to disputing the charge with my CC company since AHG refuses to correspond with me.

    I wish I could give zero stars.

    GD Star Rating
    loading...

Leave Your Review

Rate This Item