Leave a Review

Select Home Warranty

Select Home Warranty
Good: 24 Hour Service
Bad: Poor Reputation, C+ BBB Rating
Average User Score
Out of 13 User Ratings
Click to vote
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 3.4/10 (13 votes cast)

Select Home Warranty Review


Who is Select Home Warranty?

Select Home Warranty is a company that protects homeowners from incurring the high cost of repair and replacement of home appliances or systems. The company focuses on warranties for plumbing systems, heating systems, appliances, garage door and other home appliances and systems. Through a warranty with Select Home Warranty breakdown in these areas will be facilitated by sourcing the best technician and footing the cost of the bill.
The company boasts of 10,000 strong network of licensed local contractors who will address your home challenges. The company is located in Mahwah, New Jersey. The warranty company contacts contractors and contract them to do repairs for the homeowners who are covered under their plan.

Why Select Home Warranty?

There are a number of reasons that will make you chose the company. However, the above listed factors of the company are the main advantages that you will access when enlisting with Select Home Warranty.

Strong Network with contractors

When it comes to home care, it is not about anyone who calls him or herself a plumber but one who has the skills and offers repairs or replacement at affordable rates. Through a warranty with Select Home Warranty, you will access pre-screened contractors to do your work. Quality will be guaranteed through such an arrangement.

Member of National Home Warranty Association

The company is a member of National Home Warranty Association. This means that it has to operate within certain quality values. The company having been recognized by the association and has to adhere to the set industry standards. You can also forward your complaints to National Home Warranty Association if you feel that the company fails to deliver as it promised.

Services available 24 hours a day for 365 days a year

When it comes to home appliances, immediate redress is mandatory. There are some home appliances and systems that you cannot go a day without. It is important that you contract with a company that will always be there in your time of need. Having a contract with the company ensures that you have access to their customer service anytime any of the systems or appliances fails to work.

Free quote offered by Select Home Warranty

The company offers free quote that is accessible online. The advantage of a free quote is that you can assess your ability to service the contract or not before entering any agreement or incurring any expense. Through the free quote, you can assess the plan that works for you and make an informed decision. The quote is readily available online making it easy to access from wherever you are.

Seventeen coverage plans

There are seventeen coverage plans with Select Home Warranty. Your home will be covered with respect to Plumbing Stoppage, Clothes Washer, Heating System ,Water Heater, Garbage Disposal, and Plumbing system. The appliances that are covered include Refrigerator ,Stove/Oven, Microwave Oven(Built In), Cooktop, Dishwasher, Clothes Dryer, Ductwork, Garage Door Opener, A/C, Cooling, Electrical System, and Ceiling Fan.

What Select Home Warranty can do for you?

Select Home Warranty will offer protection at a monthly fee without prior inspection of the systems and appliances. The campus can offer purchaser of the warranty $100 offer and two months free with the cover. The company allows you to take advantage of optional coverage that includes the swimming pool and other systems such as the central vacuum.

Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Strong network with contractors who are specialized in repairs and replacement
  • Member of National Home Warranty Association
  • Services available 24 hours a day for 365 days a year
  • Free quote offered by the company
  • Select Home Warranty has seventeen coverage plans that are aimed at meeting your needs.

Cons

  • The business is not BBB accredited.
  • Relatively high monthly costs
  • Excessive Customer Complaints

 

Final Thoughts

Being a member of National Home Warranty Association, Select Home Warranty operates within guided principles in Home warranty and has to guarantee quality. The company also has a wide network of pre-screened professional contractors who will attend to your needs. Quality is not an issue that should worry you. In addition to this advantages, the company has a package for real estate. You can get a house covered before it is purchased and enjoy the benefits offered by the company. Despite the cover, you may be required to pay a modest service call fee. Otherwise the plan is good for those who can afford but relatively expensive.

Select Home Warranty, reviewed by Best Home Warranty on 2015-11-06T20:31:30+00:00 rating 6.5 out of 10

9 Reviews for "Select Home Warranty"

  1. Thomas and Kim Corrar
    August 10, 2014, 10:02 pm

    Awful company! They will not pay a single claim!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  2. ton
    August 11, 2014, 1:54 pm

    This by far is the worst home warranty company in NJ.always giving you the run around .and trying to close a claim is totally ridiculous.they always give you some bs excuse.never follow up with customer.and the fly by night contractors they give you never show up. A poor managed co that takes consumers. Money and gives no satisfaction. Never again will I sign up with this co.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  3. sean
    October 22, 2014, 8:37 pm
    1/10

    Shopped around home warranty for quite a while, Select sales promises all the good service and coverage, and give you $45 service call and extra free months, do not mention cap, 3 months’ time restriction, sounds good huh, I bought a 5 year policy and signed contract right away.
    My dishwasher stopped working in about two and a half month after contract, they sent a technician, I paid $45 service charge, technician sent them a quote for repair, they reject the quote, they did not call me, I waited for more than a month, the technician told me they reject the quote and do not want to pay him to do the work, I called them, PAUL right away yelled at me, cursed me for a good 10 or more minutes, I called again Julian ask me to find a technician by myself to repair and they will refund, I paid the new technician $235 service charge and $700 parts and labor, he took three trips, took 2 months eventually told me the control panel went bad and it does not worth to repair, I called Select , again another person TIM did nothing but yells and curses, I called again Julian said go ahead to buy a new one and submit receipt. I bought $999.98 new dishwasher, sent paperwork to them, waited another one month, they refund me totally $200.00, said $150.00 is the limit within 3 months, give me $50 more as courtesy.
    Exactly same story for my refrigerator issues.
    I was tiring making calls, depressed for what they did to me – yelling, cursing, the time wasted, should not bring the turmoil to my calm peaceful daily life, all started from this bad choice. I ask for cancelling the policy and get money back, again, after numerous calls and almost two month’s wait, they give me money back with deduction of $65 per month prorate, plus $75 fee, and took the $200 refund back. The prorated monthly fee should be about $32 per month, fee should be $50 according to the contract. What a rip off. I file a claim at BBB, they refused to get back the extra charges. I am working with my credit card company to see what will happen.
    This company is a scam. Please listen to me, do not do business with them. Read online review carefully, many reviews did not state facts for 4-5 starts and I know those are not true, and those with low rating ones having same bad experiences as mine, please think about it yourself. For those suffer what moral and business conducts stand for those people who run this company!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  4. erick teas
    January 26, 2015, 4:55 pm
    1/10

    A company could not be worst. In sales pitch they talk about how they repair or replace. They do not. They give dollar reimbursement equal to 10% or less of the actual repair request and tell you it is for replacement. If you repair and do not replace they will no longer cover item. ie. I had a leak in my AC. Repair cost over $500.00 to replace the part. Because I did not spend thousands to replace the entire AC system, the AC is no longer covered.

    You will also have the unpleasant experience of learning that in the fine print they do not cover the labor.

    In two of the three times I have had to use the warranty, the person sent out had been in business less than on month.

    When a tech comes out, Home Warranty requires a picture of the unit be sent. Every time i watch the tech send the picture. Every time Home Warranty says they did not get the picture so I have to resend. Then Home Warranty takes two weeks to determine coverage.

    The list of issues could go for pages. I would recommend staying as far away from Home Warranty as possible.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  5. Liz
    April 22, 2015, 10:48 pm
    1/10

    They will not pay for the cost of the repairman. Which is the costly part of the repair process and it is hidden in the warranty, written in 1 small sentence containing 3 words. Horrible service. Appliance has been broken over 3 weeks. If I could rate them -10 I would.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  6. Ben Wooten
    July 8, 2015, 8:22 pm
    1/10

    Waited four days for ac repairman,when he came and fixed it he demanded cash because he said select did not pay them

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  7. Paul Tuttle
    August 6, 2015, 11:53 pm

    My washer broke down on July 16th. The first vendor assigned to fix the issue informed me that Select would not pay more than $100 to them to repair the issue. Their minimum is $250 for the trip charge. The second vendor assigned told me that they don’t do business with Select anymore. MANY reviews online state that Select will not pay their vendors invoices for at least a year, if at all. It’s been 3 weeks and I still have a broken “covered” appliance. They now want me to find my own repair service and pay out of pocket. I want a refund of my 10 months of premiums but they will not do that, nor will they commit to anything in writing. No e-mails have a signed name and they claim to be calling and calling me, but no messages or missed calls. This company is the ultimate run-around and I’m sorry if you have been paying them for ‘coverage’ like I have. I spoke just now to their after hours service (Michelle) who said that she hears this story a lot. Even their own reps hate the company. Don’t pay for this service as it will get you nothing in return but headaches and frustration. They try so hard to get you off the phone…

    Paul Tuttle – Claim# SHW112540 – ask if that issue has been resolved when you call about your claim. Good luck

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  8. Lisa
    August 7, 2015, 4:52 pm
    1/10

    We purchased extra coverage for our second AC unit, pool and sprinkler system. We paid extra for the premium coverage just in case, but it was pointless with this company. Where do I start…We had a leak from our master bathroom shower that caused damage to our kitchen ceiling to the downstairs. They serviced out to a company that never answered their phone. It took over a month and no one ever was able to come out. We had to hire our own people and they never covered that damage. We paid out of pocket.
    Our upstairs AC unit went out. First, it took over a week for someone they recommended to come out. We had to call our own people. The work the AC company did was not covered because “it was not a mechanical problem”. The dryer filter was broken and it had to be fixed. They said that it was not a mechanical problem therefore it was not covered. We paid out of pocket.
    Then, our garage door spring broke, saying that it was not covered because it was not a mechanical problem. We paid out of pocket.
    Then our sprinkler system stopped working. The people they sent out had no idea what was going on and stated that they did not have the equipment to help us. We were fed up by then and told them to just cancel our policy. Then they told us that we had to pay a $75 cancellation fee! Are you kidding me! DO NOT get this policy unless you like throwing money away. They do NOT cover anything and the companies they work with are not reliable. If they answer their phones, then they come when they please. WROST COMPANY EVER!!!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  9. Melinda holland
    April 19, 2017, 6:26 pm
    1/10

    Do not waste your money on Select Home Warranty it is worthless they do not cover anything even when you purchase the most expensive coverage. I tried getting multiple things repaI red they found a reason not to repair any. Last staw was my microwave less than 1 1/2 years old they wouldnt even send anyone out. Just offered t send me $95 to replace it. The microwave is 259. Plus tax and installation. Don’t waste your money or time they are crooks

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)

Leave Your Review

Rate This Item