Leave a Review

First American Home Warranty

Good: Great Value, Reliable, 25 Years Experience
Bad: Customer Service can be Slow
Average User Score
Out of 412 User Ratings
Click to vote
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 8.6/10 (412 votes cast)

First American Home Warranty Review


About The Company

The First American Home Warranty has for 25 years been the heading industry leading with the first class services to the citizens. A home buyer protection plan ensures that after the buyer closes a deal, nothing comes as a malfunction, disturbance. This plan is good for the new buyers as it helps them in the maintenance of the home. It is best for those buyers with least experience in maintaining a home.

Why choose First American Home Warranty?

Making a good choice on a better home warranty plan is quite puzzling and complex fact being that many warranty options have been introduced. The First American Home Warranty is considered to have some significant experience and the required strength as the leaders in the industry of home warranties. It is said that they provide and offer reliable, affordable and innovative warranty plans for American homes.

Benefits of Company

  • The companies become fully responsible for the maintenance and repair of the home for any damages at any time. First American Home Warranty Company offer full time services 24/7; therefore there should be no fear when you have trouble any time.
  • The buyer or the owners of homes who take this home warranty protection plan no longer have to deal with expensive and costly repairs. This helps to give a peace of mind.
  • During the period of listing and escrow, sellers can enjoy the protection against expensive and costly repair.
  • The existence of this protection plans assure and give the willing and potential buyers the confidence when buying a resale home.
  • Reports by real estate professionals and experts have shown that clients are satisfied by the services offered by these companies.

 

Other features of First American Home Warranty Company

Another good thing about home warranty protection plans with First American Home Warranty is that coverage runs for up to one year, but there are other options where it can be renewed at a given fee. In addition, there is additional coverage for home appliances like refrigerators, washing and drying machines, and such like at a little extra charge.

The buyer must review well the content of what each and every warranty company covers and then select one that is suitable when making a warranty plan choice. In case a malfunction occurs and it is covered in First American Home Warranty protection plan, the home owner calls an insurance company to request for a service call. The home owner also pays for the service call which varies according to the location. The First American Home Warranty then assigns a call to one of their approved contractors to come and do the system replacements and repair. The cost of repair and replacements are catered for by the home warranty company.

The main work of a home warranty company is to manage and deal with the repair and replacement of all the basic home operations. The American home warranty has a cover that offer even services like garbage disposal. In some cases they also assist the home owners who are facing natural calamities. They assist in cases of floods and also fire breakouts.

Limitations associated with First American Home Warranty Company

  • The cost and the extra charges paid throughout the period of the warranty cover might be relatively higher and cannot be afforded by some of the potential home buyers. Some may also be willing to take a home protection cover but has no ability to cater for the costs.
  • When a warranty company sends a contractor to your home for repair and replacements, they first check whether damage is caused by lack of maintenance of lack of care by the home owner. As a result repair might be declined and this will mean you pay extra charges to others who can do the repair.

 

Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Lower Deductible than many competitors
  • Well Established and Experienced
  • Sellers Plan prevents your listing from becoming a remodel

Cons

  • Contract is long and complicated
  • Claims require pre-approval including emergencies

 

The Bottom Line

Though opinions of the company show some negative feedback, most consumers report a positive experience over all. Taking into account the companies long history with over 25 years experience this is a pretty impressive feat. This company provides a great service at a great price and has proven its self a top contender year after year.

First American Home Warranty, reviewed by Best Home Warranty on 2015-11-06T20:31:30+00:00 rating 9.5 out of 10

14 Reviews for "First American Home Warranty"

  1. Debbie Johnson
    July 12, 2014, 5:10 am
    9/10

    This type of coverage is perfect for the first time home owner. They can have a little more security knowing things are going to be covered until they are able to maintain appliances and things around the house themselves. Just a little buffer to the home owners insurance. The nationwide coverage gives access to everyone and the deductibles are quite low, which is nice!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  2. Helen Jenkins
    August 1, 2014, 12:22 pm
    9/10

    The free quote process is easy. Making a claim is also just as easy. Dealing with customer service for a repair that I needed on the weekend, was also very easy. I am happy I bought the coverage!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  3. Ben
    October 8, 2014, 8:32 pm
    1/10

    I regret ever having bought a policy from this company. They will not allow you to hire your own technician if they are able to locate one that will “contact” you within 24 hours of your claim. By “contact” they simply mean call you, but not necessarily actually fix your issue. Then if their technician comes and cannot fix the issue, the company’s clock starts again and they have another 2 hours to locate a technician who will “contact” you within 24 hours. In other words, they can send you a tech, who can’t do the job, and then simply try again, and again, etc… and meanwhile you’re simply out of luck. When I called to ask them to do something about the situation they put me in, they had me on the phone for 54 minutes before disconnecting me. When I called again and explained that being out hot water with an infant and a toddler for several days was unacceptable, the supervisor told me that he was once a kid and had to take cold baths! Anyway, this is a horrible company, staffed by horrible people, and I would never recommend buying a policy from them.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  4. Keith S.
    October 12, 2014, 8:31 am
    9/10

    This company has been one of the best things that I have ever spent money on. I was drawn in because of the high BBB rating, low deductible and the coverage for maintenance on my home. The overall cost and great customer service that I have experienced has been second to none. I plan to be a long standing customer.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  5. asa
    November 24, 2014, 8:01 pm
    1/10

    THESE PEOPLE ARE SCAMMING PEOPLE OUT OF THEIR MONEY!! If you have a claim, they just put you on hold for LITERALLY HOURS. WHEN YOU CALL BACK AND ASK FOR A SUPERVISOR THEY DISCONNECT YOU! Worse than disreputable!! THIS SHOULD BE ILLEGAL. If you call the “SALES” department, they answer right away! Yet you cannot get hold of ANYONE at the claims number nor “claims resolution.” DON’T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  6. Julie
    December 11, 2014, 11:15 pm
    1/10

    I would not recommend anyone using First American for their Home Buyers protection. I have been 4 months to get an issue resolved with my freezer. This has required 4 technician visits and a parts replacement to date. I was told in October the issue was with a freezer door that needed replacement. After many phone calls to both First American and Sears they no one could tell me when this would arrive Now, 9 weeks later, I find that two freezer doors have been shipped to my home, neither of which are the correct color. All in all, 16 weeks after reporting this issue it is not resolved and I have had to spend countless hours on the phone to both First American and Sears. Incidentally, I have had three phone calls from First American wondering why I have not renewed my policy…so at least Sales is proactive.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    • Daniel Krueger
      February 9, 2015, 10:06 pm
      1/10

      This company sent out a “plumber” because the ears on the overflow pipe to connect to the flapper to the Douglas valve. He wrote that it was not normal wear and tear .so they are not going to fix it ,its over 48 years old. the toilet was cycling every 3 hrs. or so , I found one ear already broken off ,that why it was cycling, I am not responsible for the way it was written up by the plumber. this company takes my money but then when I need a repair they say no so I will cancel the policy.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  7. Lukas Markman
    January 4, 2015, 4:00 pm
    8/10

    I think a lot of people assume that coverage like this is an easy thing to have. I was unable to read other reviews before choosing First American Home Warranty. So far I have had no problems, going on about 1 year and I have placed at least 4 calls to customer service by now. They handled my issues very quickly and that was the reason I was looking for a place to review them.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  8. Peter Faranzen
    January 6, 2015, 5:13 pm
    10/10

    I chose this company because they have plenty of experience. That is how I choose a lot of the companies that I deal with. One of the lowest deductibles in the business and 24 hour professional service technicians is also a very key component!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  9. MARY BENNETT
    April 22, 2015, 9:06 pm

    This corporation is without a doubt the most unreliable company. I have been for one month attempting to get service done and completed on my washing machine. I have contacted them several time regarding the company (platinum appliance repair in Van Nuys, California) whose technician is incompetent at repair anything without calling a another person to walk him through the repairs.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  10. Christy
    January 15, 2016, 2:28 am

    I’m absolutely appalled with them!! Our air broke June 14, 2015, and when we made the claim, they tried to avoid fixing it! They sent 4 companies out waiting on the easiest fix. Our house was over 95 degrees inside with our dogs and cats. They finally half way fixed it on July 29, 2015. They were told by multiple companies it needed to be replaced, but they just put a bandaid on it. We have gone through 4 “case managers” with no real customer service. My husband asked Brian, the supervisor, if the home warranty company was just trying to rig it together, Brian the supervisor, said yes. We both couldn’t believe he actually said that!! My husband asked him again, are you seriously telling me you’re trying to rig it together, and Brian the supervisor said yes again. Then one case manager said it was approved to be replaced, but here we are January 14, 2016, and still nothing. We have gotten a lawyer involved and everything. We were told it was being replaced. Our current case manager refuses to contact us back for the past 3 months. We have called, e-mailed, and sent letters! DO NOT WASTE MONEY ON THIS TERRIBLE COMPANY!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  11. Cynthia Gillaspie
    March 1, 2017, 1:03 am
    1/10

    This is the WORST warranty experience. I have not been able to bake for 3 months. They have not fixed the issue. They sent technicians out twice who replaced parts that did not fix the issue. The third technician said he ordered a part and would come back and fix it when it came in. I’ve not seen him since and that has been 6 weeks. Then the warranty is up for renewal and I will not so I am just screwed on this.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  12. Edwards
    March 3, 2017, 4:22 pm
    1/10

    Very horrible company. Do not waste your money on this company

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  13. Jacqueline Mitchell
    April 4, 2017, 10:32 pm

    I don’t know if it was First American or Conerly Electric but I called for an electrical problem with my light and both exhaust in my bathroom they didn’t repair anything and if they come back out its another 65.00 be careful of these people I don’t know if it’s First American or Conerly Electric I will let you know if I have to make another claim and nothing is done

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)

Leave Your Review

Rate This Item