Leave a Review

Choice Home Warranty

Good: Flexible, First Month Free & $50 Off
Bad: Only 8 Years Experience
Average User Score
Out of 513 User Ratings
Click to vote
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 8.8/10 (513 votes cast)

Choice Home Warranty Review


Who is Choice Home Warranty?

Choice Home Warranty Company is an organization that helps homeowners manage their homes by ensuring that the covered systems and appliances are operating at an optimized level. Choice Home Warranty ensures your home keeps running without unexpected and expensive repair and replacement costs. The cost of operation and the risks are kept at a low value. The company covers breakdowns associated with normal wear and tear.

Choice’s home office address is 1090 King Georges Post Rd, Edison, NJ 08837 and office hours operate 24 hours a day. Their CEO James Moss started the company 05/18/2008 in NJ. They have a permanent first month free discount without needing a coupon or promo code.

Why Choice Home Warranty

The company that prides itself to be the nation’s largest network of independent professionals who have been screened, assuring assigned contractors do quality work to maintain your house. In summary, the company is a home warranty company that guarantees continued operation of your home appliances and other covered systems. The company allows the homeowner to choose the products that should be covered and offers repairs or replacement services for the covered products. You can find a Choice Reimbursement Form here: claim reimbursement form.pdf

Plans that are Customized for your Specific Needs

Flexible and personalized plans allow homeowners to insure the items that they feel they need to secure. The company understands that the homeowner has preferred appliances that they would like to insure. The home owner can assess the appliances that are of high risk and those that are not. With that knowledge, the homeowner can make proper decisions on what should be covered and what should not. You can personalize the list of items that require to be covered. The company will cover the cost of repair and maintenance of the listed items.

The Combo Plan

The company has an already laid out plan. The combo plan offered by Choice Home Warranty allows you choose ten appliances that are to be covered. Through the combo plan the refrigerator, dishwasher, clothes washers, and driers are covered under the plan. Built in microwave ovens, garage door openers, freestanding ice-makers, built in food processors, ovens, trash compactors and cook tops are among the covered appliances. All you need to do is select the products that you desire to be covered. If items that are not in the list are affected, you may incur additional charges for repair and replacement. You can find the brochure on the office company website.

Choice Home Warranty System Plan

Another advantage of Choice Home Warranty is its system plan. The system plan ensures that all repairs and replacements of worn out system components are done promptly and with care by the contractors. Similar to the combo plan, the system plan offered by the company allows you to select ten appliances that will be covered. Consider the air conditioning, plumbing heating, electrical, water dispensers, smoke detectors, doorbells, ceiling fans, central vacuum, and water heaters among other systems.

What Choice Covers

Total Plan:

  • Air Conditioning System
  • Heating System
  • Electrical System
  • Plumbing System
  • Plumbing Stoppage
  • Water Heater
  • Whirlpool Bathtub
  • Refrigerator
  • Oven / Range / Stove
  • Cooktop
  • Dishwasher
  • Built-In Microwave
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Clothes Washer
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Ductwork
  • Garage Door Opener
  • Ceiling and Exhaust Fans

Basic Plan:

  • Air Conditioning System
  • Heating System
  • Electrical System
  • Plumbing System
  • Plumbing Stoppage
  • Water Heater
  • Whirlpool Bathtub
  • Refrigerator
  • Oven / Range / Stove
  • Cooktop
  • Dishwasher
  • Built-In Microwave
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Clothes Washer
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Ductwork
  • Garage Door Opener
  • Ceiling and Exhaust Fans

Optional Coverage:

  • Pool / Spa
  • Well Pump
  • Sump Pump
  • Central Vacuum
  • Limited Roof Leak
  • Septic System
  • Second Refrigerator
  • Stand Alone Freezer
  • Septic Tank Pumping

Free quote from the company

Choice Home Warranty will give you an almost instant free quote on what it will actually cost for the services that you need. All you need is to get into the company’s website and request for a free quotation of the prices for the warranty and what is offered. The company will give you a national average estimate of repairs and replacement for you to make a choice.

Prompt service

Interruptions in the kitchen will cost more than the surface value. Imagine any of the appliances or services out of use. The kitchen may practically get to a standstill. Choice Home Warranty understands this that is why it offers prompt service. All you need to do is notify the company and they will dispatch service providers within your location immediately. Choice Home Warranty rewards exceptional contractors quality bonus as a service incentive. This means doing a better job equals more money and discourages bare minimums that flat rate payment can lead to. They also have knowledgeable and courteous customer service representatives. Along with a respectable Better Business Bureau or BBB rating.

Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Reasonable Deductible
  • Attentive Customer Service
  • Policies to Fit any Need

 

Cons

  • Coverage Specific to Components
  • 30 day limit for Full Refund
  • Choice has built up a few complaints on Yelp.

 

Final Thoughts

Choice Home Warranty offers the necessary confidence and comfort for homeowners. With quick response, you know that your kitchens will be up and running within a short time. The flexibility in the packaging of the service offered makes the company suitable for any use that you need. With personalized service, you get what you need to get your home going. To get your mind free from worries, get the warranty offered by the company and be assured that your home will operate normally.

Choice Home Warranty, reviewed by Best Home Warranty on 2015-11-06T20:31:30+00:00 rating 9.5 out of 10

15 Reviews for "Choice Home Warranty"

  1. Bill Hayes
    June 20, 2014, 3:31 am
    10/10

    Choice gave me a name and number of a contractor and I called them right away. We set up an appointment for the very next day. He took a look at my washer and figured out the problem. Choice contacted me right away and gave me an offer for repairs or to send me a check to compensate. Great company.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  2. Kathy
    June 30, 2014, 11:10 am
    7/10

    The contact phone number for the service company I received was incorrect. It’s possible that the service people gave choice the wrong number, but I contacted choice that their service contractors had not gotten in touch with me. They took care of it within 5 minutes. I’m very grateful for their help!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  3. James Young
    July 2, 2014, 11:50 am
    10/10

    There is absolutely no way you can sit quietly in your house on a weekend when your A/C is not working. I recently encountered such a situation when my A/C suddenly decided not to work on a hot Sunday afternoon. After checking the A/C, I decided to make use of the Choice home warranty service. Even though I had signed up after due research and recommendations from friends and family, it was the first time I was going to use the service personally.

    I started with making the call to Choice on a Sunday and was extremely pleased when my call was picked up on the second ring. The choice representative immediately gave me the number of an A/C repair company with instructions to call them back in case I did not hear from the repair company by Monday morning. Anyways, my phone rang within 40 minutes. It was the A/C repair company and we promptly setup an appointment for 9 AM Monday morning.

    I had dealt with a few A/C contractors over the years and while most of them are courteous, there are a few who you would never want to work with again. I was again surprised with the courteous response of the A/C contractor on Monday morning. He thoroughly explained the problem and the solution. I am thoroughly impressed and will definitely recommend Choice to everyone.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  4. Anthony Lee
    July 10, 2014, 2:36 am
    10/10

    Our family literally loves the pool. Therefore, we make huge efforts to keep it clean and sparkly at all times. However, we had a scare recently when our pool pump decided to die on a Tuesday afternoon. We were scared that by the time our pool pump will get working again, the pool water will turn into a muddy green liquid. We had recently signed up with the Choice warranty company and this was the perfect moment to test their service.

    A call was made and it was promptly answered. I was a bit disappointed when the representative told me that there is no one available in my locality to fix the pool pump but I was very delighted when they told me to hire someone on my own to fix the pump. I knew the company which had fixed the pool pump at my brother’s house. After talking to the contractor, I called Choice for authorization and they were going to reimburse me with the exception of deductible. I got the pump fixed within a day and promptly received an e-mail from a Choice representative. I filled out the form and faxed it back to them. Thanks to Choice, our pool pump was fixed without much delay.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  5. Mark W.
    July 16, 2014, 4:37 am
    10/10

    We had never used this service before and were a bit anxious while using it for the first time. However, everything went smooth and we were extremely pleased. Needless to say, we have recommended this service to all of our friends.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  6. Robert Clark
    July 23, 2014, 11:39 am
    9/10

    I had a problem with my disposal unit and promptly placed a call to Choice. The plumber called me on a weekend for an appointment on Tuesday. The disposal unit was broken and the plumber replaced it with a few minutes. I am extremely pleased with the service experience.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  7. Karen Hill
    July 29, 2014, 6:40 am
    8/10

    The customer service took note of my problem immediately when I called them. I have tested quite a few warranty services and I can say that Choice is the best warranty service I have seen so far.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  8. Patricia Evans
    August 4, 2014, 1:12 am
    10/10

    I had to recently call Choice when the oven stopped working on Saturday. Choice representative gave me the number of the service technician but they were closed on Monday. I got in touch with them on Tuesday and fixed an appointment for the next day. The representative arrived at the appointed time and fixed the oven on the same day.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  9. Joseph T.
    August 14, 2014, 9:20 am
    10/10

    When I contacted Choice customer service for a problem with one of my kitchen appliances, I was promptly provided a contact number for the technician. In fact, I received a call within 60 minutes of contacting the Choice representative. In my opinion, Choice is the best home warranty service available in the market today.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  10. Mike
    November 7, 2014, 11:45 am

    Opened door under my sink around 8:00PM on Tuesday night, water everywhere. I checked and leak coming from bottom of disposal. Called Choice and operator placed order with a local plumber and by noon the next day had new disposal which was installed by Very courteous and knowledgeable plumber, took him maybey 40 minutes from arrival to departure…….Thanks Choice Home!!!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  11. Kelly Heplar
    January 3, 2015, 8:57 am
    9/10

    I will tell anyone that asks, how great it is to have coverage like this. Coverage for things that are not covered normally and at an affordable price. I was almost turned away by the 30 day limit on full refund policy, but as you can see, I still went with Choice Home Warranty. I needed a custom plan and so far, they have been great in the customer service department!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  12. Jesse T.
    January 6, 2015, 5:08 pm

    I was not sure if I was able to call about our furnace on a Sunday afternoon this winter, but I did. Customer service handled it perfectly and we had heat back in our house within a few hours. Being able to have things fixed that quickly is important.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  13. LD
    May 27, 2015, 4:35 pm

    I made a claim on my A/C unit which stopped cooling. The only thing Choice Home Warranty did right was get a service person out quickly. The claim was denied because the Evaporator Coil had rusted and leaked out the Freon. Apparently all rust and corrosion issues are excluded for all items. They hide that fact in the fine print. They are a cheaper company with lower deductibles for a reason. Once I really started reading through their fine print, I found they have exclusions for almost everything. I previously had American Home Shield and this would have been covered under them. However, AHS only pays $10/lb for the Freon. Both companies seem shady, but I at least would have had the work partially covered with AHS. I will not be renewing my policy and I recommend others to look at a different company as well. The lure of the lower prices comes at a steep cost later.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  14. Sarina
    June 1, 2015, 3:23 pm
    3/10

    The service was good, however, the claim analyst was not justifiable. I had called in for my washer since it did not spin. And they turned around and told me that they are denying the coverage since the pump is consider known or unknown pre-existing conditions. I was really upset because that is a vague pre-existing conditions. I would never sign up with this company again and also not recommend this company to other potential buyers. good thing my 30 days refund did not pass or else I would of been more screwed.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  15. Saundra Weissmueller
    September 17, 2016, 6:56 pm

    BEWARE!! We are in the residential real estate business and would NEVER RECOMMEND this home warranty company to any of our clients. This company DOES NOT HAVE AN ESTABLISHED TEAM Of PROFESSIONALS TO DISPATCH. Rather, they essentially are an independent contractor broker that doesn’t pay the people they dispatch if the issue diagnosed isn’t covered by their policy, which means the only technicians they have to send you are those who haven’t been mistreated by them yet (a shrinking pool). In our case, CHW failed to provide the timely service they promise to us when our A/C system was not cooling during an extreme weather condition of 115 degree heat in AZ. They sent us phone numbers of 3 independent technicians who either did not call back or said they did not have the knowledge, tools or experience to assess our A/C system properly. Days later, we were in an emergency situation with no A/C and called CHW to let them know none of the technicians were able to deliver the service we needed and that one of the techs they dispatched told us to call the original installer of the system, which was not in their provider network (they refuse to do business with CHW because of their poor reputation). Desperate, we called this company, which arrived same day and diagnosed and remedied the problem so we could live in comfort. I called CHW to explain that the problem had been fixed by this non-network provider and CHW sent us their claim form to complete and submit for reimbursement. We submitted a claim for the repairs, which, per the contract are covered items. CHW, however, refused to cover any portion of the claim because the company we had to use would not call them first or otherwise do business with them because of their poor reputation. We are out of pocket over $2K and no attempt to even partially compensate us was made by CHW. The BBB site is full of dissatisfied customers. There is even is a note in this CHW’s BBB profile asking dissatisfied customers to contact a named individual and allow them the opportunity to resolve issues before formal complaints are filed. I called and emailed with no response after a week of repeated attempts. They are clearly a company that first and foremost is concerned about minimizing payouts, and not interested in doing the right thing even to salvage their reputation with a loyal customer.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)

Leave Your Review

Rate This Item