American Home Shield Review

 Get a Free Quote
Good: Great Contractors, Transparent Terms
Bad: None

Our Score

Average User Score
Out of 548 User Ratings
Click to vote
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 8.7/10 (548 votes cast)

American Home Shield is a home warranty cover plan that has been devised to assist people in financing the cost of repairs and replacements of valuable items inside their home. The big difference when it comes to American Home shield is that they allow the homeowners to choose the items that they wish to cover.

The American Home shield was founded in 1971 and remains a leader in the home warranty industry. Today, the company is providing service to 1.4 million customers in 49 states. High profile brands like Merry Maids, Furniture Medic, AmeriSpec, ServiceMaster and Terminix are associated with American Home Shield.

The Benefits that the company provides:

Flexible and personalized plan

American Home Shield differs from other companies because clients are given the chance to pick the home items they like to insure. Homeowners would usually determine which items are valuable and which are the ones that will easily deteriorate over time according to the frequency of use. Clients are asked to make a list of these items, after that the company would assess the subjects and see if they could be covered by the insurance. In the future, if something goes wrong with the furniture or machine the American Home Shield would be the one to shoulder the cost of repairs or the replacements, the only payment the homeowner would have to give is the minimal visit charge.

Able to insure more home systems and appliances

Unlike other insurance companies that are selective, American Home Shield is able to insure a range of home systems and appliances. The company is covering 21 types of home systems; this will include dishwashers as well as air conditioning. The client is usually given the chance to customize their coverage, they are given the option of Building their own plan, and this plans will start at $19 a month in some U.S states.

Appliance discount Program

The AHS also offers volume discounts, this gives clients the chance to select the brand name of appliances at a reduced price should they decide to purchase new appliances.
Clients are given the chance to save especially when deciding to change most of the furniture inside a residential or commercial property. The discounts provided would also include discounts on air filters, the discounts could sometimes reach up to 50% off retail price, and the filters would also be delivered.

Assistance in finding a good contractor

Other benefits of AHS will also include assistance in finding a contractor, if the client has a home improvement project in mind; the company is willing to provide a comprehensive listing of the contractors in the area. AHS is also willing to provide a list of their pre-screened professionals to help their client find a reliable contractor for their home improvement project.

Free helpful tips online

The official website of AHS Home protection plans provides monthly feature articles that contain information on some of the best home protection plans cover there is. They also provide information on any changes that have occurred during the past few months with regards to the appliances that have been insured making it easy for clients to keep track of what is going on.

Why choose a home protection plan vs. homeowner insurance?

Clients will be asked to distinguish the pros and cons of a home protection plan vs. homeowners insurance. It is important to know the difference between these two offers in order to be able to make the most out of it.

What is a home protection plan?

The home protection plan is a simple technique; it would only involve a one year service contract that would cover the repair and replacement of the home system components that are involved.

Homeowner insurance on the other hand will involve more, it would be able to cover hazard in private homes, and it will involve a number of policies that are created in order to protect the home and its contents. It would be better to select the homeowners insurance, although the process is a bit more complex there is a better assurance that the appliances will be protected just in case an accident occurs.

AHS is able to provide this confidence that most of the valuable appliances and major components are protected.

What can the company do for you?

The Combo Home Warranty Plan

This is the most popular of all four home warranty plans. The Combo Home Plan covers everything contained in both the Appliance and the Systems plans below.

The client saves about $14 every month when he or she purchases the combo plan, as opposed to the Systems and the Appliance plans separately.

Build Your Own Home Warranty Plan

This plan gives the client a lot of flexibility by allowing them to choose only the coverage that they need. All the client needs to do is select 10 or more of the most important items from the list of covered items in their home in order to get coverage that is tailor-made for them.

The Systems Warranty Plan

The Systems Warranty Plan covers the repair and/or replacement of the following important domestic systems:

  • Heating and ductwork
  • Air-conditioning and ductwork
  • Plumbing
  • Electrical work
  • Garbage Disposal systems
  • Water Heaters
  • Central Vacuuming systems
  • Doorbells
  • Cold Water and Instant Hot Dispensers
  • Smoke Detectors
  • Ceiling Fans

The Appliance Warranty Plan

This plan covers the following household appliances:

  • Clothes Dryers
  • Refrigerators
  • Built-in Microwave Ovens
  • Clothes Washers
  • Free-standing Ice Makers
  • Dishwashers
  • Trash Compactors
  • Cook tops/ Ovens/ Ranges
  • Garage Door Openers
  • Built-in Food Processors

Optional Add-ons

If either one of the above plans does not cover the client’s needs completely; he or she can opt to add coverage for any of the following items to their plan. The cost of each item the client includes will be added to their plan.

  • Water Softener
  • Septic Pumping
  • Well Pump
  • Pool/Spa

Service Call Fee

The client will be charged a small trade service fee for every service call made by an electrician, plumber, etc. The service call fee is usually lower than other service fee rates. The home warranty service provider offers three service call fee categories. These are:

  • $ 75
  • $ 100
  • $ 125

This allows the client to create a customized plan to suit their budget and domestic needs.
You should remember that:

  • The plan you pick will cover replacements and repairs of all covered items and system regardless of their make, age, or model.
  • You will not have to pay any additional fees for the replacement or repair of any covered item.

Cons:

Some of the appliances will not be replaced; there are just certain affected parts that could be replaced by the insurance. Upon requesting the combo plan and the systems plan there are additional charges that would have to be paid. There are some hidden charges that clients have to be careful about, read the contract carefully in order to be able to understand.
Interested clients can get a free quote on the website; a free quotation would be released and would explain how much is needed to be paid for the warranty. The company will already provide the estimate of the repairs and replacements, after reading the contract the client can decide if they like to proceed or not.

Conclusion:

Just like any other insurance company in the world, there are certain issues that would be encountered at AHS, but when compared with other companies that insure appliances, AHS is still able to provide the best service. It is able to provide clients a number of choices, there is freedom and flexibility that are given when it comes to the insurance plans that are being provided which easily makes the American Home Shield worth considering especially for clients who are insuring appliances for the first time.

American Home Shield, reviewed by Best Home Warranty on 2015-11-06T20:31:30+00:00 rating 9.7 out of 10
Free Quote

20 Reviews for "American Home Shield"

  1. Jake Owen
     Verified Reviewer
    May 30, 2014, 9:20 pm
    10/10

    We have American Home Shield coverage on all three of our last homes. On all of our homes we have had equipment failure with appliances and home mantanance and AHS always came through right away. The price has gone up a bit over the years, but in the long run it is still worth it.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  2. L.
     Verified Reviewer
    July 26, 2014, 7:22 am
    10/10

    I’m glad I have AHS backing me up. Requesting repairs has always been a good experience. Their local contractors have always been quick, informative, and very helpful.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  3. Brian
     Verified Reviewer
    August 2, 2014, 6:11 am
    8/10

    The air conditioning repairman was skillful and friendly. He was thorough when explaining the problem and what he did to fix it. The service had been rescheduled and he apologized. Overall I would say AHS’s contractors are pretty good.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  4. Ben
     Verified Reviewer
    August 3, 2014, 6:17 pm
    1/10

    I had AHS on my home and my sister’s home. I never had to use it but my sister used it three times before I cancelled it. The first time was during the coldest time of the year when her heat went out. After a call, a technician was scheduled to come out. The problem with that was the company AHS said was coming out did not work for AHS. So, the next day, a technician from an Atlanta company was scheduled to come out. (My sister lives in south Georgia, about 175 miles from Atlanta). Finally, three days later, a technician shows up and gets the heater working. Later, we find out instead of replacing a faulty switch, he only by-passed it. Second incident – A/C repairman called. Freon leak and he wanted to charge twice the going price for replacement freon. Third and last time was when the stove went out. On the day scheduled for the repairman to show, my sister took off work to be at home when the repairman showed. No show – she called and was told the repair had been rescheduled for three weeks later. No phone call from the repair company or anything. When I called AHS, the customer service rep said ‘I see you cancelled the repair and it has been rescheduled.’ I said no, the repair company cancelled with no notice to us. She could not understand why I would want to cancel my contracts after this. Based on my experience, we received poor to no service and dealt with a company who had little to no knowledge of the people they have handling their repair service.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  5. Branden Kesser
     Verified Reviewer
    August 4, 2014, 7:47 am
    9/10

    The A+ rating at the BBB is what brought me here. The overall customer experience is what is keeping me around. I thought the coverage starting after 15 days of enrollment is key to helping customers. Great company all around!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  6. Julie Davis
     Verified Reviewer
    August 9, 2014, 5:29 pm
    8/10

    It looks like other customers are having issues with the service that AHS provides. I must say that in the 5 years that I have had to deal with them, there have been few problems. I hope customers will give it a try to see how good the coverage is, as well as the customer service.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  7. Robin
     Verified Reviewer
    September 5, 2014, 1:49 am
    2/10

    I had this company before and let me tell you my whole electrical system went out. Called up the electrician contracted by American Home Shield, only to find out that AMS wouldn’t cover it. I would have had to pay the service fee and the extra charge, which came up to be almost $300.00. As soon as the tech left I contacted customer service and cancelled my contract.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  8. Jason Hoppman
     Verified Reviewer
    September 28, 2014, 1:25 pm
    9/10

    The helpful hints on the AHS website are a plus and benefit of knowing the company. Getting free quotes is always a good thing, plus you only wait 15 days for coverage after you enroll. Top notch service!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  9. Gary F.
     Verified Reviewer
    October 27, 2014, 11:20 am
    9/10

    When we were looking to build onto our home and deck, we were trying to decide on a contractor. I talked to people that I knew and then I checked the AHS website and it is actually one of the services they offer customers.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  10. Naomi Klien
     Verified Reviewer
    November 1, 2014, 8:02 am
    9/10

    I personally like how the claim system works for AHS. You call up, they provide the estimate and you can decide if the repairs are worth it. NO surprises and that is how it should be, black and white. The customer service is also very easy to deal with and deserves mentioning.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  11. Julie Mekhail
     Verified Reviewer
    November 12, 2014, 12:15 pm
    3/10

    I have had AHS on every home I have had for 20 years. The last year they were not helpful. They came to the house to fix the ice maker and broke the water line. Then went to turn off the water to the house and broke that one too. They said it was my fault they broke even though my house is only 6 years old and should not have broke. AHS then left me without water for 3 days because they said it was not covered in the contract. It took over 9 hours on the phone to get them out to fix it. The next time I had a problem it was the microwave. I put a potato in microwave and pushed the potato button. My house filled with smoke and when I opened the door the potato flamed and I shut the door and called AHS. They came out and took the microwave and called me and said it was not covered because I over cooked the potato. I got a copy of the users manual that said to use the potato button. They said not covered. I wrote to the GM and got a call form a women saying I did not use the microwave correctly. I wrote to the GM again. It took two weeks before they replaced the microwave due to a faulty sensor. I also recommend them to my inlaws and when he called about a ceiling fan came out took the fan apart and said they needed to order parts. They did not come back. When he called they said the fan was not covered. He’s 82 and never got the fan fixed. If you have the time and persistence then it is worth it, if time has value to you then I would not recommend this company. I no longer have AHS.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  12. Dylan Cruble
     Verified Reviewer
    November 26, 2014, 11:16 am

    With more than 40 years experience and very low deductibles, I am not sure you could find a better deal for coverage like this. We have been using the AHS service for 5 years, made a few claims and have not been disappointed at all. I am marking it at 8 stars only because I do think the cons that are listed can be very frustrating depending on the appliance that needs work.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  13. nazneen khumbatta
     Verified Reviewer
    December 24, 2014, 1:12 am
    1/10

    We have been trying to get our dishwasher repaired thru American Home shield since august 2014. Each time they come out and say they are ordering more parts and when the parts come, they say they need more parts to repair.

    This has been going on for 5 months. We have asked them to replace it but they give us the runaround.

    Very pathetic and disappointed. I have no choice so I am following up with them but we have already spent at least 50 hours on the phone

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  14. Dylan Cruble
     Verified Reviewer
    January 2, 2015, 4:17 pm
    8/10

    With more than 40 years experience and low detectible, I do not think you are going to find a better deal on the market. We have been customers for like 5 years now, making a few claims and have not been disappointed so far. I am giving it 8 stars because I think the “cons” listed above can be a hassle if you are in an emergency.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  15. Jackson Messner
     Verified Reviewer
    January 5, 2015, 2:57 pm
    8/10

    I have had AHS for the last 3 years on a home that my wife and I bought in the country. We went through the house and got 10 appliances on the list for the combo plan and have been happy with everything since that day. We have only had to call about one appliance and in that case it was a simple fix, but the customer service was top notch!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  16. Paul Redrick
     Verified Reviewer
    January 6, 2015, 5:02 pm
    8/10

    I think it is important that people understand this is not “home owners insurance”. For my wife and I, this type of coverage was a no-brainer. Neither of us can plumb a sink or barely change the filters in our furnace, so paying for some coverage like this was an easy decision to make. American Home Shield base plan is good enough for us and we are happy with it!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  17. Barb Neumann
     Verified Reviewer
    February 20, 2015, 6:15 pm
    7/10

    Don’t try to call on a Friday! Waiting time for service can take a LONG time even on good days.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  18. Kirstin mikel
     Verified Reviewer
    February 28, 2015, 3:32 pm
    1/10

    Submitted 3 claims, but they only covered 2. denied coverage on 2 because they blamed cause on ridiculous circumstances. Not impressed with this company. Also, each phone call I spent an average of 30 minutes on hold to speak to a customer service rep. I am now researching other companies.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  19. Keith
     Verified Reviewer
    April 21, 2015, 7:04 pm

    Read the contract very carefully. If you have high end appliances and they fail, American Home Shield only replaces with contractor grade equipment. I had a 10 year Rudd water heater fail and it was replaced with a 6 year Bradley White.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  20. Jennett Hewlett
     Verified Reviewer
    November 15, 2015, 4:24 pm
    1/10

    I wish there was a zero rating. I am so done with AHS. I requested that some duct work be replaced and was denied. Per contractor the cost for the replacement of the duct work would be around $300 if claim was denied by AHS. The portion of the ductwork that needed replacement would be the portion from the equipment to the air vent (approximately 12 to 15 feet). I recently realized that the air flow had diminished about two to three weeks ago. I opened the attic space to see if I could discern any problems. Looking into the attic from the floor level of a ranch I could see that there was a separation (hole) in the duct work that was just below the silver duct tape used in original construction. This hole was sealed by homeowner with a very colorful duct tape since that was the only kind available at home. I requested a service call. The contractor came in and right away I sensed that he had no interest in performing the repair. Contractor noticed that there was a barrier paint sprayed in ceiling. This was done approximately three to four years ago and contractor assumed that someone stepped on the vent while installing the barrier. I explained to him that the spraying was done more than three plus years ago and the tear in the duct appeared less than a month ago. Contractor said this would be his report to AHS but if I wanted to pursue replacing the section of the vent, I should call him and we could work something out. I asked him about cost and he said about $300.00, I even sent a photos of the duct to AHS and asked how is it possible for someone to step on the vent more than three years ago and the damage just showed up and the break was on the portion of the duct that was off the floor and halfway up where the duct was angled upwards to meet the air vent, Additionally, AHS sent me an unsigned form letter denying the claim – how very professional of them!

    Needless to say I would not do any business with this contractor and I am not renewing my contract with AHS – I’ve had a contract with AHS for the past 5 years.

    It is very upsetting that AHS would rely on the recommendations of a contractor who is trying to work with home owner outside of AHS warranty. I will file a complaint with BBB..

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)

Leave Your Review

Rate This Item

* For verification purposes, please provide the email address you used when signing up with this company.