Leave a Review

American Home Guardian

American Home Guardian
Good: No Inspection Wait, A- BBB Rating
Bad: Limited Coverage
Average User Score
Out of 16 User Ratings
Click to vote
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 7.9/10 (16 votes cast)

American Home Guardian Review


American Home Guardian (AHG) provides service in Texas, Nevada, and Arizona and is quite popular in those states. This company strives to provide unique services to their customers and want to lead the innovation of home warranty coverage. At AHG their mission is to provide the best quality services at the best value to their customers.

The Good

There are many services offered at AHG. They provide a 60 warranty with a 100% satisfaction guarantee. Included in every contract is 13 SEER and 410A HVAC coverage. They also claim to provide the fastest response time in the business.

There is no waiting period following an inspection.

They also have a website which is easy to navigate and provides transparent information about all of their services. You will be able to fill out a request and receive information using their website. They also have an FAQ section which provides a ton of information regarding the company and home warranty coverage in general.

The Bad

Some appliances that are covered in higher ranked companies are not covered by AHG. This is a shame because this company offers really great service at a really good price. Also the fact that they only operate in three states is a major drawback.

The Bottom Line

Great service, but limited. If you live in their coverage area they might be worth a try, but at the same price other companies offer a more extensive coverage plan.

American Home Guardian, reviewed by Best Home Warranty on 2015-11-06T20:31:30+00:00 rating 6.0 out of 10

12 Reviews for "American Home Guardian"

  1. Jenny
    August 25, 2014, 7:20 pm
    1/10

    RUN AS FAST AS YOU CAN!!! They claim they have 24 hour customer service- which is a lie. They have a machine that tells you that they will call you back the next business day. They have an online submission that will contact you within 4 hours of business start the next business day. I had a flooded kitchen from a bad garbage disposal- it happened on the weekend. I had to call someone to fix it- and they never ever called me back despite multiple calls for resolution. This weekend my AC went out- in August, in PHOENIX- I got a call 24 hours later. I had to pay someone privately to fix as I have 2 dogs and we were in a sweat house. When I called there was no remorse. The lady tried to tell me that the contractors are not mandated to work weekends…. unfortunately the customer service is not either. Do not buy into the sales bologna that they are #1. RUN. I am.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  2. Erika
    October 12, 2014, 3:10 am
    1/10

    I have an over the range microwave that stopped working. I called AHG on a Friday at 2pm to request service. Never got a call & I had to call them to schedule on Monday. Was charged $54 to have the guy come out to tell me it can’t be fixed. Got $109 towards a new one. So basically they gave me $50 to buy a new one. New ones comparable to mine run $500 + not including installation and delivery. I called the Manager, Javier twice with AHG and left messages both times. That was 2 weeks ago & I still haven’t heard back. So, I sent an email through their website a week ago, and still no response. In the meantime I had to suck it up and purchase a new microwave with the pathetic $50 they gave me. I thought warranty companies are supposed to give you money for a comparable item. They didn’t do that in addition to nobody getting back to me. I’ll be cancelling my contract with them at renewal time.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  3. David Bressler
    July 24, 2015, 5:04 am
    1/10

    American Home Guardian does not stand behind the work of its subcontractors. The subcontractor assigned by AHG to repair my oven broke my oven and then charged me $385 to fix the problem. AHG refused to reimburse me, saying the damage done by THEIR CONTRACTOR was not covered under my policy. I am now pursuing legal means of recovery against AHG and the subcontractor, if I can ever find out his last name. He refused to give me that information and so did AHG. This is truly a disreputable company with questionable business practices. If you buy a policy from them, you’ll have no one to blame for your mistake except yourself. CAVEAT EMPTOR!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  4. William D.
    September 7, 2015, 8:22 am
    10/10

    This was Andrew’s second trip. Always told me what was going on, kept me informed. Very nice to my dogs.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  5. Robert Gianguzzi
    September 11, 2015, 3:01 am
    10/10

    I was impressed by the coordination of the efforts- especially on memorial day weekend as my AC unit needed repair!!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  6. Megan Schmidt
    October 8, 2015, 4:14 am
    10/10

    Service was great! Our technician stayed late to get the job done. Excellent!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  7. Jacqy W.
    October 30, 2015, 3:42 am

    My AC stopped working late yesterday, the rep from AHG made sure the repair was completed yesterday

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  8. Nichole W.
    November 10, 2015, 2:16 am
    10/10

    Fantastic technician went above and beyond customer service expectations.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  9. carston
    November 17, 2015, 3:46 pm
    10/10

    I am very happy with American Home Guardian today! They made my water heater replacement a snap! I was in a panic when it was leaking all over my garage. The person that answered the phone when I called told me how to shut it off and the tech was at my house within 4 hours and was prepared to replace the unit. Thank-you AHG!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  10. Daniel C.
    November 23, 2015, 9:15 am
    10/10

    Knowledge of technician was very impressive. AHG Home Warranty is simply the best! And I cant think of any company in this line of business which can provide the same amount of dedication and customer support!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  11. Elwood Boehmer
    January 14, 2016, 3:35 am
    10/10

    The contractor was polite, talkative and efficient.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
  12. Julie
    May 2, 2016, 9:15 pm
    10/10

    Wonderful company that puts their customers first. I’ll definitely be using AHG from here on out. If you are looking for a company that takes pride in customer service, then look no further.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)

Leave Your Review

Rate This Item